Murray, Clark, Czinano Named To Wooden Award Midseason Lists


Three Iowa basketball players have been named to the Wooden Award midseason watch lists.

Forward Kris Murray was named to the men’s list, while guard Caitlin Clark and center Monika Czinano were named to the women’s list.

Murray leads the Hawkeyes in scoring (20.4 points) and rebounding (9.8). Murray has increased his scoring average by 11.7 points per game this season compared to last year.

Murray has scored 30 or more points three times this season. He is one of five Hawkeyes to score 30 or more points at least three times in the Fran McCaffery era, joining Luka Garza (13), Keegan Murray (5), Peter Jok (5), and Devyn Marble (3).

Clark is leading the Hawkeyes with 27.1 points, 7.1 rebounds and 6.9 assists per game. She became the fourth Iowa women’s basketball player to reach the 2,000-point mark for her career, tying Elena DelleDonne as that fastest players to reach that milestone in 75 career games. Clark is the first Iowa men’s or women’s basketball player to amass 2,000 career points, 550 assists, 530 rebounds, 120 steals, and 40 blocks in a career.

Czinano became the fifth Hawkeye to surpass 2,000 career points and 38th all-time in Big Ten history. Czinano and Clark were the first pair of teammates to accomplish those feats in the same season in Big Ten women’s basketball history. Czinano is averaging 17.8 points and is shooting 61 percent from the floor this year.

Photo: Iowa’s Kris Murray reacts after his 31-point game against Georgia Tech earlier this season. (Keith Gillett/Icon SportsWire)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s