Murray Wins Malone Award

By John Bohnenkamp

Keegan Murray added another postseason award on Saturday.

The Iowa sophomore received the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday. The award is given to the top power forward in Division I men’s basketball.

Murray, a consensus first-team All-American this season, became the first Big Ten player to win the award.

It’s the third consecutive positional award for a Hawkeye — Luka Garza was the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year in 2020 and last season.

Murray, who announced last Tuesday that he was entering the NBA draft, is a finalist for the Wooden Award, which will be announced on April 5. He was a finalist for the Naismith Trophy, the Lute Olson National Player of the Year, and the Lefty Driesell Defensive Player of the Year.

Murray set a program single-season scoring record with 822 points this season. He had 303 rebounds, 68 blocks, 66 3-point field goals, 52 assists, and 45 steals, becoming only the second player in Division I history to have more than 800 points, 60 blocks, and 60 3-pointers in a single season, joining Kevin Durant in 2007.

Murray was the program’s fourth consecutive first-team All-American, joining Garza (2020 and 2021), Murray Wier (1948) and Charles Darling (1952).

Iowa won 26 games and the Big Ten Tournament title behind Murray, who ranked fourth nationally in scoring at 23.5 points per game. Murray was voted the Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player after setting a tournament record with 103 points and 38 field goals made in four games.

Photo of Iowa’s Keegan Murray (right) by Brian Ray/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s